POEM: Can’t Stand Me (daily prompt)

Can’t Stand Me

I like myself.
Myself is kinda cool.
Watching myself is sometimes like watching a movie.
Listening to myself is sometimes like hearing a trapped friend.

I have an old video of myself,
Public speaking in college was fun,
Enlightening to my shyness,
Thinking of three speeches was creative.

I wore a tan and white sweater,
That sweater exclaimed that I’m poor,
I figured my hair was looking good,
Told me that nobody really cared.

I have this microphone that I use,
I record fun things for it to repeat back,
It repeats my voice and interests,
I listen to nasal but interesting me.

Sometimes I watch the video to remember,
How far I’ve come in being me,
I relate to it in the nervousness,
I can understand the joy of myself too.

Sometimes I use my microphone for fun,
I push the button and exclaim something,
Listen again to remember my thinking,
Playing around and enjoying life.

I like myself.
Myself is kinda cool.
Watching myself thinking dynamics.
Listening to myself and having fun.

By: Nowelle (c)

——

This prompt comes from The Daily Post. The daily prompt can be found at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cant-stand-me/.

The daily prompt is as follows:
Can’t Stand Me
What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

About Nowelle

I'm a Christan woman. I like many things such as my cat, my plants, my books, international and domestic travel, poetry, Bible studies, thrift stores, and cute clothes.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Emotions, issues, Life, Past and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

